Preliminary tallies have Wilbeck, Egan, and Burke winning Bayonne BOE contest


While the results still aren’t finalized, preliminary tallies indicated that Bayonne Board of Education Vice President Denis Wilbeck was re-elected, with Jan Egan and Lisa Burke, of the “Together We Can” slate, joining him on the school board.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

Wilbeck, who ran on the “Commitment, Experience, Integrity” slate with Trustees Charles Ryan and Carol Cruden, is currently leading comfortably, with 2,030 votes, but from there the results are pretty close.

Egan currently sits at second place with 1,789 votes in his favor, with Burke right behind him with 1,786.

Ryan is in fourth place with 1,717, followed by Cruden with 1,674. While all the machine votes have been tallied, the Hudson County Clerk’s Office is still counting provisional ballots.

The Together We Can slate was backed by Mayor Jimmy Davis and entire city council, who also played a role in leading Neil Carroll III to a victory in the 1st Ward special election yesterday.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353