After Zimmer majority Hoboken council sworn in, Giattino, Mello named pres, VP


The Hoboken City Council held their oath of offices, welcoming three new council members – as well as three returning – and also reorganized the board by naming 6th Ward Councilwoman Jen Giattino president and Councilman-at-Large Dave Mello vice president at last night’s meeting.


Hoboken City Clerk James J. Farina administered the oath of offices for 5 of the elected officials while former state Senate Majority Leader Bernard Kenny administered the oath of office for 6th Ward Councilwoman Jennifer Giattino.

1st Ward Councilman Michael DeFusco took his oath and openly stated, “this is not my seat, this is the seat of my neighbors in the first ward.”

2nd Ward Councilwoman Tiffanie Fisher reminded council members and the public that her mission for the next four years is to “engage, inform and advocate”.

4th Ward Councilman Ruben Ramos said he is “really looking forward to putting forward a progressive agenda and really advocating on behalf of all residences in Hoboken, not just the 4th ward residents which I represent.”

The most senior board member, 3rd Ward Councilman Michael Russo, called the latest incarnation of the council “a very unique breakdown” and that “it really represents the entire city of Hoboken.”

For the two other returning council members 5th Ward Councilman Peter Cunningham and 6th Ward Councilwoman Jen Giattino, they’re also looking forward to working with such a diverse board.

For the reorganization, outgoing Hoboken City Council President Ravi Bhalla had one request for the incoming council president.

“My only request for the incoming council president, is that now with the new configuration of council members, we have now not just one but two public school teachers on the council dais, Councilman Ramos, Councilman Mello, they need to get to work early.”

It was Giattino, who was nominated by Councilman-at-Large David Mello and seconded by Councilman-at-Large James Doyle, that was appointed as Hoboken City Council President for 2016. It was a unanimous vote.

Councilman Mello, who was nominated by Hoboken City Council President Giattino and seconded by Councilman Russo, was appointed 2016 Hoboken City Council vice president. It was also a unanimous vote.

Mayor Dawn Zimmer addressed the current city council as “extremely dedicated to the city of Hoboken.”

Zimmer had a great Election Day on November 3, with her five endorsed council candidates (DeFusco, Fisher, Dana Wefer, Cunningham and Giattino) winning four of the five contested races.

Russo ran unopposed after prominent developer Frank Raia dropped out, citing health reasons.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353