Jersey City POBA elects new president and his leadership team to three-year terms


The Jersey City Police Officers Benevolent Association elected a new president, along with a whole new leadership team, to three-year terms earlier this month.

Jersey City Police Officers Benevolent Association President-Elect Joe Cossolini. Screenshot via Twitter.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

Carmine Disbrow was seeking a fourth term as the POBA president after being elected in 2012, 2015, and 2018, but he was defeated handily by Det. Joseph Cossolini at the union’s  election – which occurs every three years – which was tallied on April 15th.

With 459 ballots counted, Cossolini secured 351 to Disbrow’s 108, with the detective’s slate all securing at least 307 votes and pulling off a clean sweep, according to tally forwarded to HCV.

Disbrow said he “wishes Cossolini luck in his new role” and declined to comment further on the results.

Cossolini received widespread media attention in December 2019 after a social media video showed him sitting down and speaking with members of the Hasidic community in light of the domestic terrorism incident in Greenville – where the officer lives – that claimed four innocent lives.

He has been a member of the JCPD since 2005, public records show, and the president-elect could not be reached for comment on Tuesday.

A dozen other officers were elected to POBA leadership roles as well, with Rashaun Spence to serve as vice president, Jim Woods as second vice president, Iris Lopez as recording secretary, Melange Ramirez as recording secretary, and Sean Butler as treasurer.

Furthermore, Christopher Perez will be the union’s state delegate, while Anthony W. Silver will be the alternate state delegate. Jose Lora got the nod for municipal council delegate, with Glenn Johnson set to take over at sergeant-at-arms.

Finally, the three POBA trustees will be Ramon Martinez, Joshua Philips, and Joseph Torre.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353