Jersey City Dem Committee re-elects Stamato as chair, 2 new exec. board members


The Jersey City Democratic Organization re-elected Barbara Stamato as their chair and also selected two new executive board members at last night’s reorganization meeting.

Photo courtesy of the Jersey City Democratic Organization.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

The meeting, held at Hudson County Prep High School, located at 525 Montgomery St., saw Stamato unanimously re-elected by those in attendance, which was the majority of the 380, several people familiar with the matter told HCV.

Stamato is also the Democratic nominee for state Assembly in the 31st Legislative District and is favored in a rare general election scenario that has six people running for two seats: two Democrats, two Republicans, and two independents.

Five of the seven executive board members remained the same, with Anthony Mitchell remaining he 1st vice chair, former Assemblyman Sean Connors again the 3rd vice chair, Jan Norland is still the secretary, Nancy Warlikowski – a senior aide to Mayor Steven Fulop – maintaining the treasurer post, and Charles Mullins staying on as sergeant-at-arms.

The only two changes saw Jersey City Director of Recycling Sonia Marte Dublin voted in as 2nd vice chair, succeeding Hudson County Commissioner Yraida Aponte-Lipski (D-4), and Osman Gani taking over as parliamentarian from Planning Board Commissioner Vidya Gangadin.

Additionally, a resolution to update the committee’s bylaws to extend the term of the current committee members from two years to four also passed unanimously, which means the terms will run through the 2025 primary where Fulop is running for governor.

This rule has been passed by various committees across the state in the past couple years, including the Hudson County Republican Committee in 2021.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353