Hudson County Schools of Technology board approves new table of organization


The Hudson County Schools of Technology board unanimously approved (8-0) a new table of organization at last week’s meeting, which delegates new responsibilities to the superintendent, business administrator, directors, and more.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

The resolution, introduced by Trustee Arthur Pettigrew and seconded by Trustee Hector Zulueta, was approved as part of the consent agenda on Thursday, none of which drew any further discussion.

Under the new table, the majority of departments are overseen by Superintendent of Schools Amy Lin-Rodriguez, which includes career and technical education, curriculum and instruction, student support services – all of which have individual directors – human resources and facilities.

” … The enhanced restructure of the Table of Organization follows a supportive educational growth model in line with recent strategies of the HCST Board of Education to improve its governance, including the creation of Board committees that provide guidance on instructional programs, finances and other key initiatives in collaboration with the Superintendent,” a district spokesman said in a lengthy statement.

“As part of this reorganization, HCST has increased the coordination of Student Support Services by appointing a Director, reorganized Human Resources under the Superintendent’s leadership to reflect an increase in professional development opportunities while providing additional support for certified staff after the retirement of the district’s Personnel Director, opened a Community Resource Center for our residents, as well as several other adjustments meant to support improved administrative functions.”

Additionally, Business Administrator Nick Fargo will oversee his office, food and transportation services, grants, and workforce development, while Board Secretary Joey Muniz will be in charge of the board office, purchasing, the development office, and technology services.

Last month, the board voted to remove personnel duties from Muniz, but it failed in a tie vote, 4-4.

Board President John Minella, Jersey City Mayor Steven Fulop’s chief of staff, and Trustee Geraldine Perez, the Union City assistant superintendent for student services, Assemblywoman Barbara Stamato (D-31), and Julietta Vogt, County Executive Craig Guy’s deputy chief of staff, voted yes.

However, Vice President Hugo Cabrera, North Bergen commissioner, Trustee Monica Fundora, a Guttenberg councilwoman, Arthur Pettigrew, the Harrison Board of Education vice president, and Hector Zulueta, a Guttenberg business owner, voted no.

Secaucus Town Attorney Kerri Ann Eglentowicz, who resigned in light of pursuing a Hudson County Superior Court judgeship, was absent.

She has since been replaced by Jersey City Police Officers Benevolent Association (POBA) President Joe Cossolini, who was among the eight members of the volunteer board who voted in favor of the new table of organization on February 15th.

Only Trustee Monica Fundora, a Guttenberg councilwoman, was absent.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353