Assembly Dems rally behind Vincent Prieto for 2nd term as speaker


Assembly Speaker Vincent Prieto (D-32) looks like he’s on his way to his second two-year term at the post, given that 48 members of the Democratic caucus have issued a vote of confidence for him. 

Vincent Prieto

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

The Assembly Dems issued the following statement praising Prieto’s work as Assembly Speaker, a position he was elected to in November 2013:

“The past two years have brought many challenges, successes and accomplishments to the General Assembly,” the statement says.

“In presiding over the General Assembly during this period, Speaker Vincent Prieto has demonstrated his leadership ability by facing each challenge with the grace, compassion and determination expected of a great leader.”

The group also supports re-electing Assemblyman Lou Greenwald (D-6) as the majority leader, as well as bringing back Assemblyman Gary Schaer (D-36) as the budget chairman.

“The next legislative session will bring an entirely new set of challenges and issues confronting our state.”

“In the interest of continuing the leadership that has taken place over the last two years of new ideas, new energy and new advocacy for the principles of the Democratic Party, we hereby express our support for our leadership team in the General Assembly of Assemblyman Vincent Prieto as Speaker, Assemblyman Lou Greenwald as Majority Leader and Assemblyman Gary Schaer as Budget Chairman for the next legislative session in January 2016.”

The full list of Dems interested in keeping the same leadership, which includes Prieto and his running mate Assemblywoman Angelica Jimenez (D-32), is as follows:

Robert Andrzejczak, District 1


Vincent Mazzeo, District 2


John Burzichelli, District 3


Adam Taliaferro, District 3


Paul Moriarty, District 4


Gabriela Mosquera, District 4


Patricia Jones, District 5


Arthur Barclay, District 5


Pamela Lampitt, District 6


Louis Greenwald, District 6


Herb Conaway, District 7


Troy Singleton, District 7


Wayne DeAngelo, District 14


Daniel Benson, District 14


Reed Gusciora, District 15


Elizabeth Maher Muoio, District 15


Joseph Egan, District 17


Joseph Danielsen, District 17


Patrick Diegnan, District 18


Nancy Pinkin, District 18


John Wisniewski, District 19


Craig Coughlin, District 19


Annette Quijano, District 20


Jamel Holley, District 20


Jerry Green, District 22


James Kennedy, District 22


John McKeon, District 27


Mila Jasey, District 27


Ralph Caputo, District 28


Cleopatra Tucker, District 28


L. Grace Spencer, District 29


Eliana Pintor Marin, District 29


Nicholas Chiaravalloti, District 31


Angela McKnight, District 31


Raj Mukherji, District 33


Annette Chaparro, District 33


Sheila Oliver, 34


Thomas Giblin, District 34


Benjie Wimberly, District 35


Shavonda Sumter, District 35


Gary Schaer, District 36


Marlene Caride, District 36


Gordon Johnson, District 37


Valerie Vainieri Huttle, District 37


Timothy Eustace, District 38


Joseph Lagana, District 38

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353