UPDATED: Jersey City, WNY, Weehawken public schools announce Monday closures


The Jersey City, West New York, Weehawken, Bayonne, Hoboken, Secaucus, Kearny, Union City and North Bergen Boards of Education announced this morning that their public school districts will be closed on Monday due to the aftermath of Winter Storm Jonas. Jersey City Public Schools District

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

While snow totals in Jersey City, West New York, Weehawken, Bayonne, Union City and Secaucus were not immediately available, it appears more than likely that over two feet of snow fell in each district, given that the neighboring municipalities of Hoboken and North Bergen both received at least 26 inches of snow, per ABC 7.

Jersey City Public Schools district announced the decision on their Twitter page about an hour ago:

Jersey City schools closed

Weehawken followed suit about 30 minutes ago:

Weehawken schools closed

While the West New York school district doesn’t have a Twitter account, multiple town officials confirmed with Hudson County View that they would also not be opening tomorrow given the current weather conditions.

UPDATED: 2:14 p.m.

The Bayonne, Hoboken, Secaucus and North Bergen Public Schools will also be closed tomorrow.

Bayonne schools closed Hoboken schools closed

Secaucus schools closed

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353