Bayonne Mayor Davis re-elected to another term as Dem committee chair, Martinez new vice chair


Bayonne Mayor Jimmy Davis was re-elected to another term as chair of the municipal Democratic committee this evening, where the partisan body elected Rosemarie Martinez as the new vice chair.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

Mary Jane Desmond, a former deputy county clerk and acting county clerk, announced on Monday night that she’d be seeking to unseat Davis as the head of the Bayonne City Regular Democratic Organization.

However, the head-to-head matchup wasn’t meant to be, as Davis received the nomination before Desmond received one and was re-elected without a second thought.

Committee members said they were unsure of how many votes the mayor received at the private session, which is not unusual at New Jersey reorganization meetings where a position is uncontested.

“Congrats Jimmy Davis – he retains Chairperson status. Hope he’s inspired to do the right thing for committee members and other elected democrats,” Desmond wrote on Facebook afterwards.

However, there was one shakeup on the executive committee, with Martinez, the city tax collector, being elected vice chair with 69 votes, according to several members in attendance who spoke under the condition of anonymity.

A motion was made to keep Erica Daughtrey, the communications director for U.S. Rep. Albio Sires (D-8) on as vice chair, receiving 22 votes, committee members told HCV.

What lasting impact, if any, this has on Sires’ camp, which includes Weehawken Mayor Richard Turner, remains to be as Davis begins his bid for a third term as mayor with the majority of the Democratic committee (which has 102 members) on his side.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353