Bayonne elections drawing only about 17.5% turnout with 5,500 ballots cast on the machines


While the Bayonne municipal elections have the only contested matchups of the day, turnout has been extremely low thus far, with just 5,500 ballots cast as of about 5:18 p.m. for a paltry 17.5 percent turnout.

Twitter photo.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

The vote tally comes from Hudson County Board of Elections Clerk Michael Harper, who said yesterday that just 724 people voted early in the Peninsula City on either Friday, Saturday, or Sunday.

Hudson County Clerk E. Junior Maldonado added that 1,504 vote-by-mails have been cast as well.

Maldonado also said that Bayonne has 42,374 registered voters, meaning only about nine percent of voters have hit the polls today.

Compare that to 2018, when just under 12,000 votes were cast on the machines and voter turnout was at 32 percent.

Mayor Jimmy Davis is defending his seat against Council President Sharon Ashe-Nadrowski, a former two-time running mate of his, as well as Dr. Mitchell Brown.

Additionally, 1st Ward Councilman Neil Carroll, a part of Team Davis, defends his seat against Julie Sanchez-Lynch, who is running with Ashe-Nadrowski.

In the 2nd Ward, Jacqueline Weimmer, running with the mayor, will go head-to-head against George Vince, a part of Team Ashe-Nadrowski, to fill Councilman Sal Gullace’s seat since he isn’t seeking re-election.

The 3rd Ward is the only three-way dance of the evening, with Councilman Gary La Pelusa, backed by Davis, looking to stave off Board of Education President Maria Valado, running with the council president, and independent Peter Franco.

Finally, the at-large race, which also has an open seat since Ashe-Nadrowski is running for mayor, has six candidates.

Business owner Carissa Lintao and Board of Education Trustee Denis Wilbeck are running independently, retired Police Officer Loyad Booker and Councilman Juan Perez are running with Team Davis, while PAL Executive Director KT Torello and Board of Education Trustee Jodi Casais are on the Ashe-Nadrowski ticket.

The polls are open until 8 p.m. and runoff elections will take place on June 14th if necessary.


Editor’s note: This story was updated with a corrected voter registration number from the Hudson County Clerk’s Office. 

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353