Bayonne BOE pres. re-elected, will be joined on the board by at least 2 newcomers


Bayonne Board of Education President Joe Broderick was re-elected last night and he will be joined by at least two newcomers in 2019, with the race for a fourth seat still too close to call.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

With provisional and vote-by-mail ballots still being tallied, Broderick led the very crowded pack of 19 candidates with 3,815 machine votes, according to the Hudson County Clerk’s Office.

Also joining him in the winner’s circle were Jodi Casais, who ran on a three-person slate backed by Mayor Jimmy Davis and Assemblyman Nick Chiravalloti (D-31), who earned 3,329 votes at the polls.

The last three-year term up for grabs remains a question mark, as former Bayonne BOE Business Administrator Leo Smith currently leads Trustee Ava Finnerty by just 33 votes (3,143 vs. to 3,110).

The battle for the one-year term was far more definitive with Michael Mulcahy, a former City Hall worker who was also the treasurer for Jason O’Donnell’s unsuccessful mayoral run in May, won with ease.

Mulchay picked up 2,248 votes, with the second place vote getter, Hector Gonzalez, scoring just 1,607 votes.

Trustee Mikel Lawandy, who lost last year but was appointed to the board in June, as well as Trustee Charles Ryan, both came up well short in their bids for one- and three-year terms, respectively.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353