Baraka swears in Fulop for 2nd term, Jersey City council welcomes 3 new members


Newark Mayor Ras Baraka swore in Jersey City Mayor Steven Fulop for his second term last night after the city council welcomed three new members.

Fulop cruised to re-election in November, easily overcoming a challenge from former city Corporation Counsel Bill Matsikoudis by a margin of about 78 percent to 22 percent.

“I promise I will never let you down,” he said at the tail end of his address, vowing to continue to make Jersey City one of the best progressive cities in the country.

The Jersey City Council also had all nine members sworn in, including three newcomers: Denise Ridley in Ward A, Mira Prinz-Arey in Ward B and James Solomon in Ward E.

Following a roughly 45-minute inauguration event, the council convened for their bi-annual reorganization meeting.

While many political observers believed that Councilwoman-at-Large Joyce Watterman would succeed Rolando Lavarro as council president, the council decided against making a change.

Lavarro was elected to his third consecutive, two-year term to lead the governing body by a vote of 7-2.

Watterman and Councilman-at-Large Daniel Rivera voted no.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353