3 incumbents seeking re-election as Alonso tries to gain allies in 15-person Bayonne BOE race


Three incumbents are seeking re-election together in yet another crowded Bayonne Board of Education race that has 15 candidates battling it out for three, three-year terms – with one trustee not on the ballot seeking to gain allies on the board.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

Trustees Carol Cruden, Charles Ryan and Denis Wilbeck (the vice president of the board) make up the “Commitment, Experience, Integrity” ticket as they all vie for another term on the board.

While Ryan was defeated at the polls last November, the board appointed him to fill a vacancy in January.

The only other full three-person slate on the ballot is the “Make Bayonne Great” ticket, which is exactly the same as last year: Lauren Alonso, Trustee Michael Alonso’s wife, Evelyn Sabol and Charles Shepard.

Leo Smith, Jr., a former school business administrator who filed for a recount last year after a narrow fourth place finish, is back on the ballot, as is Jan Egan, who also performed well for a first time candidate in 2018, but still came up short.

Anthony D’Amico, who unsuccessfully ran in 2017 and sat out last year, has also declared his candidacy again, while Hector Gonzalez and Melissa Godesky-Rodriguez have decided to seek a board seat for the second year in a row.

Additionally, Sharma Montgomery is running for the fourth time, with newcomers Melissa Mathews, Lisa Burke and Stephanie Wilson throwing their hats into the ring as well.

The Bayonne Board of Education race is on November 5th, the same day there will be a special election for the 1st Ward council seat.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353