3 Hudson freeholder hopefuls DQ’ed, Murphy says ‘I’d be stunned’ if primary isn’t moved


Three candidates seeking seats on the Hudson County Board of Chosen Freeholders have been disqualified after they were unable to collect enough valid signatures on their petitions for nomination, particularly relevant after Gov. Phil Murphy (D) said minutes ago that “I’d be stunned” if the primary isn’t moved.

Hudson County Clerk E. Junior Maldonado.

by John Heinis/Hudson County View

Ninofhka Torres, Casey Timorason, and Arthur Rehak “are not qualified” to run for freeholder seats in District 1, 7, and 9, respectively, since they did not submit the 100 valid signatures required by state law, according to the Hudson County Clerk’s Office.

In a story about the progressive “Not Me. Us” slate running against the incumbents backed by the Hudson County Democratic Organization, HCV noted that at least three freeholder candidates’ petitions were unlikely to survive scrutiny.

This means that Freeholders Kenny Kopacz, Caridad Rodriguez, and Al Cifelli appear to have uncontested primary races, while the other six incumbents are still paired with opponents.

However, the complexion of the primary across the state appears likely to change by next week.

Gov. Phil Murphy (D) indicated at a press conference this afternoon that he’s leaning toward postponing the June 2nd election instead of opting for vote-by-mail only races in New Jersey.

“When the Democratic party decided to move their convention back to August 17th, we have a lot more flexibility than I thought we had two days ago and we’re gonna make a decision on that pretty soon, but I’d be stunned if we stay at June 2nd,” Murphy said.

The postponement, should it occur, may not be particularly dramatic, as New York and Kentucky have moved their primary races to June 23rd.

NJ Globe reported this morning that Murphy told Democratic county committee chairs that the primary could be pushed back.

Also on the ballot this year in Hudson County and beyond are U.S. Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ), as well as U.S. Reps. Albio Sires (D-8), Bill Pascrell (D-9), and Donald Payne, Jr. (D-10).

Locally, West New York native Hector Oseguera will face off with Sires in the primary, while Payne will see a challenge from Jersey City teacher John Flora.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353