2021 Primary Election: Who is on the ballot and where to vote in Hudson County


Not sure who is on the ballot or where your polling location is in Hudson County? Here’s a brief overview of today’s Primary Election.

Photo courtesy of the Hudson County Clerk’s Office.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

Anyone can located their polling station by simply entering their address on the New Jersey Division of Elections website.


No contested races, state Senator Sandra Cunningham, Assemblywoman Angela McKnight, and William Sampson IV are on the ballot for the legislative seats in the 31st District.


Former Freeholder Jeff Dublin has the Hudson County Democratic Organization’s support to be the next county register, but he faces a challenge in Melissa Alexander.

For the New Jersey Democratic State Committee, Pat Waiters is challenging Darlene Green.

East Newark 

No contested races.


No contested races, Mayor Wayne Zitt and the five Town Council members are on the ballot unopposed.


No contested races.


Just two of the 80 the Hoboken Democratic Committee sears will be contested.

Oddly enough, the race most politicos will be watching is the Hoboken GOP Committee race in Ward 6, District 7. GOP State Committeeman Joshua Sotomayor-Einstein is taking on Joe Branco, a former HDC Secretary.

If Einstein wins, he’ll challenge Jose Arango for the Hudson County GOP chair position at their reorganization meeting next week.

Jersey City 

Between the Progressive Democrats of Hudson County and the Hudson County Progressive Alliance, 53 out of 366 committee seats are contested. Clearly the most interesting Dem committee battle of the day.


Longtime Kearny Mayor Al Santos is being challenged for the first time since 2003 in a primary against real estate professional Sydney Ferreira.

Ferreira’s 2nd Ward council candidate Alexis Campos is doing a write-in campaign after a judge ruled that she did not meet the residency requirement to be on the ballot.

North Bergen

One contested Democratic committee seat: Stephanie Rosas-Garcia is challenging in Ward 5, District 5.

State Senator Nick Sacco, Assemblywoman Angelica Jimenez, and Assemblyman Pedro Mejia are on the ballot for the legislative seats in the 32nd District.

Union City

No contested races, state Senator Brian Stack, Assemblywoman Annette Chaparro, and Assemblyman Raj Mukherji are on the ballot for the legislative seats in the 33rd District.


No contested races.

West New York

No contested races.


One contested seat for the Democratic committee: Mary Ciuffitelli is challenging in Ward 3, District 2.

The polls are open until 8 p.m.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353