Bayonne Mayor Davis, city council endorse ‘Together We Can’ team in BOE race


Bayonne Mayor Jimmy Davis and the city council have formally endorsed the three-person “Together We Can” slate in the November 5th board of education race.

Photo courtesy of the Together We Can campaign.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

“I am supporting the Together We Can ticket of Jan Patrick Egan 12D, Lisa Burke 13D, and
Melissa Mathews 14D, and I urge all residents to join me in voting for them,” Davis said in a statement.

“They have no conflicts or personal agendas and as parents, they are passionate about the quality of our public schools. They are the best choice for our community.”

The endorsement comes as the 14-person race hits prime time, with Election Day less than three weeks away. However, it is not much of a surprise as candidates had correctly been speculation on who the administration will support since the summer.

“This team will be a strong and clear voice for Bayonne’s children and teachers. I am proud to stand with Mayor Davis and the Council to support Jan, Lisa, and Melissa and look forward to working with them to continue to improve our City,” added Council President Sharon Nadrowski.

There are also three incumbents on the ballot, the “Commitment, Experience, Integrity” team of Denis Wilbeck, Charles Ryan and Carol Cruden.

A ticket backed by Trustee Michal Alonso under the “Make Bayonne Great” banner features Lauren Alonso (his wife), Evelyn Sabol and Charles Shepard.

Meanwhile, Stephanie Wilson, Anthony D’Amico, Melissa Godesky-Rodriguez, Sharma Montgomery, and Leo Smith, Jr. (the district’s former business administrator) are all running as independents.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353