Report: Union City, Weehawken among 30 N.J. town that will ban legal weed sales


Union City and Weehawken are the two Hudson County municipalities that are among the 30 New Jersey municipalities that have passed local legislation to ban legal sales of marijuana, according to a report from NJ Advance Media

Photo via

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

The report says that Union City passed their anti-marijuana law on February 13th, while Weehawken followed suit shortly thereafter on February 28th.

Hudson County View exclusively reported in March that the Weehawken Zoning Board of Adjustment amended their laws to ban the commercial sale, growth, distribution and use of marijuana.

Meanwhile, Jersey City has been quite enthusiastic about welcoming legal marijuana and a New York-based marijuana dispensary has already pitched the Hoboken City Council about the benefits of their business expanding into the Mile Square City.