Hoboken Mayor Dawn Zimmer named to national EPA advisory committee


Hoboken Mayor Dawn Zimmer has been named to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Region 2 Local Advisory Committee, which gives recommendations to the agency regarding key environmental policies. 

Dawn Zimmer

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

The 30-member advisory board was formed to foster stronger EPA and local government partnerships and to build on state and local initiatives to affect positive environmental results, according to the EPA.

Members include locally elected and appointed officials, such as mayors, county executives, city managers and commissioners.

“Mayor Dawn Zimmer was selected because of her strong track record on environmental protection, and particularly her efforts to make Hoboken a more sustainable city,” Judith A. Enck, an EPA Regional Administrator, in a statement.

“Her commitment to making Hoboken a healthy and resilient community serves as an example for communities across the country. EPA is grateful to have her input on a range of issues we tackle.”

Erick also cited Zimmer’s leadership effort during, as well as after, Hurricane Sandy. The Mile Square City’s flood resiliency project received recognition from the United Nations back in April.

“As mayor of a city on the front lines of climate change, it is an honor to serve on the EPA’s Local Government Advisory Committee,” Zimmer said in a statement.

“I hope that sharing our experiences and lessons as an urban coastal community that is adapting to the dual threat of rising seas and stronger storms will help lead to solutions to some of our greatest environmental challenges.”

Additionally, Hoboken was one of three cities in the state funded by Together New Jersey to showcase a green infrastructure project.

Zimmer received further praise on several other city initiatives, such as the Rebuild by Design project: Hoboken’s flood preparedness program.

The EPA’s Local Government Advisory Committee is often called upon to advise the agency on matters such as air and water quality, waste management and coastal restoration.

Furthermore, the committee consists of one subcommittee and five workgroups. The subcommittee is assigned with strengthening the capacity of small communities to improve their health and the environment.

Each committee member can serve a maximum of two, two-year terms.

Regions 2 of the EPA consists of New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and eight federally recognized Indian nations.


  1. It is good to have someone with Mayor Zimmer’s progressive and science-driven views on climate change and the necessity for green technologies than a shill for fossil fuels

Comments are closed.