Hoboken City Council approves 5 Zoning Board of Adjustment members


The Hoboken City Council approved five positions on the Zoning Board of Adjustment, filling two regular seats as well as agreeing on three alternate members.


Prior to the appointments, Dr. Hany Ahmed addressed the importance of these roles stressing that the city is changing and the “zoning book is 40 – 50 years old.”

“That book doesn’t allow for daycare centers in the western portion of the city, yoga studios on the northern part of the city.”

Councilman-at-Large Ravi Bhalla addressed the missing names on the resolution and apologized calling it a miscommunication between himself, the law department and the city clerk’s office.

“I am sensitive to the concerns about the need for names to be on here in the future”, said Bhalla.

“And to that end I know that Councilman DeFusco, Councilman Doyle and Councilman Ramos have all submitted specific names so that the public has the ability to know beforehand whose being considered and whose not and to speak in favor or against potential candidates.”

John Branciforte has been appointed as a regular member for a four-year term since Elliot Greene’s term has expired.

Branciforte was appointed as a first alternate member in January 2014. adjustment

Owen McAnuff, who once served as a third alternate member, was appointed as a regular member for the remainder of three years. He is filling the former position of the newly elected 1st Ward Councilman Michael DeFusco.

Daniel Weaver who served as a commissioner on the Hoboken Planning Board from 2010 through 2015 will be filling the vacancy of Branciforte’s first alternate term that expired.

Additionally, Ed McBride will be filling of the vacant seat of newly elected 2nd Ward Councilwoman Tiffanie Fisher, serving as a second alternate.

Finally, the city council appointed realtor Cory Johnson as a third alternate, replacing McAnuff.

Zoning Board appointments:

Regular member, four-year term:

John Branciforte: Nominated by Councilwoman Fisher, seconded by 5th Ward Councilman Peter Cunningham

6 Yes, 4th Ward Councilman Ramos and 3rd Ward Councilman Michael Russo voting against, Councilman-at-Large David Mello abstained

Regular Member, three-year term:

Owen McAnuff: Nominated by Councilman DeFusco, seconded by Councilman-at-Large Mello

6 yes, Councilman Cunningham, Councilman-at-Large Doyle & Councilwoman Fisher voted against

1st Alternate
Daniel Weaver: Nominated by Council President Giattino, seconded by Councilman-at-Large Bhalla

6 yes, Councilman Ramos abstained

2nd Alternate
Ed McBride: Nominated by Councilman Cunningham, seconded By Councilman-at-Large Doyle

8 Yes, Councilman Ramos abstained

3rd Alternate

Cory Johnson: Nominated by Councilman-at-Large Bhalla, seconded by Councilman Mello

6 yes, Councilwoman Fisher and Councilman Russo voted against and Councilman Ramos abstained

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353


  1. Getting really claustrophobic in uptown Hoboken with Council members who ran on keeping our historic district intact now flip flopping and crowding us all in. Would not be as bad if there was actually police enforcement so one could walk the sidewalks and cross the street safely. But no that went away with Zimmer and crew also.