4,904 votes cast in North Bergen thus far; 1,888 in West New York, official says


4,904 votes have been cast in North Bergen thus far, compared to just 1,888 in West New York, according to Hudson County Board of Elections Clerk Michael Harper.

By John Heinis/Hudson County View

Both tallies are fairly expected given that the majority of voters don’t hit the polls until 5 p.m., as well as the fact that West New York already had about 3,000 ballots cast between early voting and vote-by-mail ballots.

All four teams from the two respective North Hudson municipalities splurged heavy on canvassers and campaign signs in this one, though potential voters were spotted few and far between early this afternoon.

In North Bergen, Mayor Nick Sacco, also the state senator of the 32nd Legislative District, is looking for his 11th term in municipal office – he was elected commissioner in 1985 and then mayor in 1991.

He is running with Public Safety Commissioner Allen Pascual, Parks and Public Property Commissioner Hugo Cabrera, Hudson County Democratic Organization Chair Anthony Vainieri, and Board of Education Trustee Claudia Rodriguez.

For the third time in a row, Larry Wainstein is seeking the mayor’s seat. In 2015, he lost by a margin of roughly 67-33 and then by about 69-31 in 2019. He has spent heavily in this race, investing over half a million dollars of his own money.

His four running mates this time around are Lucy Rodriguez, Tony Parrales, Alcides Siri, and Franklin Fabre. Siri has been on his slate all three times, while Fabre was one of his running mates in 2019.

Just down the road, the “Sires Team for West New York” seeks to have Sires, also a former Assembly speaker and congressman, return to his old mayor’s seat.

He is running alongside Parks and Public Property Commissioner Victor Barrera, former Board of Education Trustees Adam Parkinson and Marielka Diaz, and former Republican congressional candidate Marcos Arroyo.

They face a challenge from “West New York Forward,” led by Public Affairs Commissioner Cosmo Cirillo.

His slate consists of Assemblywoman Angelica Jimenez (D-32), Revenue and Finance Commissioner Margarita Guzman, Hiram Gonzalez and Walter Lopez.

In both municipalities, the polls will remain open until 8 p.m.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/hcvcp/public_html/wp-content/themes/Hudson County View/includes/wp_booster/td_block.php on line 353